The Porcelain Tit of Marie-Antoinette


As they say in the US Army, “No shit, there I was!” And before the guard could open his mouth, I have put my camera against the glass case and took a shot then a control shot. Double-tapping is wrong. “Monsieur!” He was actually running after me. So I had to share my joy with the fellow. 

A week ago I wrote a blog entry about this cup. And today wandering through this rather boring Espace Fondation EDF, 6 rue Recamier, I saw it across the room. I didn’t even know that there was a surviving copy. I thought they had destroyed them all during the Revolution.  I guess Dalton had kept one for himself. He probably told Robespierre it broke during transport.

And now I have it too, just a picture…, two pictures actually, it doesn’t make two cups for sure…. nevertheless….

This entry was posted in Marie-Antoinette, Marie-Antoinette T&.... Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

